The number of MTR stations closed down amid the ongoing National Day unrest had passed 20 by 4pm on Tuesday, with the entire Tsuen Wan Line also suspended.

Station closures were announced for Siu Hong, Shek Mun, Yuen Long, City One, Central, Sha Tin Wai, Prince Edward, Lok Fu, Mong Kok, HKU, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Yau Ma Tei, Sai Ying Pun, Kwai Fong, Kwai Hing, Tai Wo Hau and Diamond Hill in the afternoon, in addition to the 11 stations closed earlier.

The mass transit operator had announced overnight that Admiralty, Wan Chai and Prince Edward would be shuttered from the morning.

Causeway Bay, Sham Shui Po, Wong Tai Sin, Sha Tin, Che Kung Temple, Tsuen Wan, Tsuen Wan West and Tuen Mun stations were closed from 11am “due to upcoming public activities”.

The railway company said the decision was taken as “as a prudent measure to ensure the safety of passengers and our staff”.

There had been calls online for protesters to rally from 1pm in areas close to many of the stations closed.

The corporation said it had decided to shut the stations after conducting risk assessments and holding discussions with relevant government departments.

Meanwhile the Airport Express was operating limited services between Hong Kong and Chek Lap Kok and skipping other stops.

Last updated: 2019-10-01 HKT 17:58