“Game of Thrones” took the top Emmy for best drama but dark British comedy “Fleabag” was the surprise big winner of television’s glitziest night, dominating the comedy prizes at a star-studded ceremony in Los Angeles.

“Thrones”, the most decorated fictional show in the history of the Emmys – television’s Oscars – finished with 12 awards overall for its final season.

Peter Dinklage won his fourth best supporting actor statuette for his portrayal of sharp-tongued dwarf Tyrion Lannister.

The divisive final run of “Thrones” enraged many fans – more than a million signed a petition for HBO to redo its conclusion.

In the night’s biggest shock, “Fleabag” star Phoebe Waller-Bridge bested eight-time acting winner Julia Louis-Dreyfus (“Veep”) before the show itself won for best comedy series.

The BBC show – which has grown into a phenomenon on both sides of the Atlantic after being acquired by Amazon – also scooped awards for best comedy writing and directing.

“It’s just really wonderful to know and reassuring that a dirty, pervy, angry, messed-up woman can make it to the Emmys,” said Waller-Bridge, referring to her character.

Billy Porter made history as the first openly gay black man to win the best drama actor prize for FX show “Pose”, which explores New York’s underground ballroom culture in the 1980s.

Jason Bateman was the surprise winner for directing Netflix’s dark crime thriller “Ozark”. Co-star Julia Garner won best supporting actress.

Sandra Oh failed in her bid to become the first Asian-American actress to win the leading actress in a drama category, beaten by her co-star Jodie Comer in BBC spy thriller “Killing Eve”.

“Chernobyl” – HBO’s drama about the 1986 nuclear catastrophe – won the Emmy for best limited series.

It faced off against “When They See Us”, the searing true story of five New York teenagers wrongly accused of raping a Central Park jogger.

One of the Netflix show’s young stars, Jharrel Jerome, won the prize for best actor in a limited series.

Bill Hader won for best actor for HBO’s hitman comedy “Barry”. The network pulled off another victory for “Succession”, with Jesse Armstrong a surprise winner for drama writing. (AFP)